Introductions: The Girl Behind the Tulle

As I’m sitting here in Panera Bread, spending my final underage day sipping a quite non-alcoholic chai latte, I can’t help but think that my world is going to turn upside-down in a matter of nine hours. Will I wake up tomorrow feeling like a responsible adult? Will I suddenly be motivated to pursue my dreams with a renewed sense of vigor? Or will I just have an immediate, irreversible craving for alcohol?

I know I’m being silly, and more likely than not, I’m going to wake up feeling the same (with perhaps a little more enthusiasm to greet the day than usual). I’ll go to class in the morning, spend the afternoon doing homework in the library, then possibly go out to the tavern next door to our apartment with my best friend for a celebratory drink. Other than that, nothing will be different, with the exception of my new-found ability to order any fancy drink I want when I’m at a restaurant.

But before that happens, I wanted to take the time to introduce myself and my life so far. (All photos are personal.)

So what’s there to know about me? My name is Nina. I grew up in southeast Michigan, and even though I’ve been living in downtown Chicago for the past three years while attending school, I still call Michigan home. And I think that will be true even if I end up moving across the country!

One of the hardest things about living in Chicago is being away from my family. I have a mom, a dad, a younger brother (who’s going to be graduating high school in a few months), and a trusty border collie named Trek. My mom and I are extremely close; we’re no Lorelai and Rory, but we’d like to think we could give them a run for their money. I miss her more than anything else while I’m at school, and she’ll always be the most important person in my life.

We're both avid Harry Potter fans, and in 2011, we finally went to visit the Wizarding World in Orlando!

Though we don’t get to do it often, our favorite vacations are mother-daughter trips to Florida. (In 2011 we finally got to visit the Wizarding World – we’re both avid Harry Potter fans!)

In Chicago, I live with my best friend, Courtney. We recently rented our first “grown-up” apartment this past December. It’s right on Michigan Avenue, and it’s one of the few things I actually enjoy about living in this city. Not to mention, living with my best friend makes it possible to tolerate the awful weather that we have for 70% of the year.

Ahh, nothing like a fresh new apartment.

Ah, nothing like a fresh new apartment.

I’m a writer, a self-proclaimed health freak, a Caribou Coffee junkie, and a corgi addict. I care far too much about television shows, movies, books, and fictional characters in general. I’m also one of those feminists who greatly enjoys being domestic, especially when it comes to baking and sewing. As much as I hate cold winter weather, I love skiing, but I’m also an avid runner, swimmer, and weight-lifter.

This past October, I ran my first half-marathon with a couple friends in the Chicago Monster Dash!

This past October, I ran my first half-marathon with a couple of friends in the Chicago Monster Dash!

My obsession with weddings has been a major factor in my life since I was a little girl. I didn’t always want to work in bridal (like any kid, I went through the phases of veterinarian, marine biologist, movie director, and so on), but now that I’ve finally begun working in the industry, it’s really a dream come true. Which is why I’m so excited about starting this blog!

I love getting to play dress-up at work. This is Casablanca 2056 - definitely a contender for The Dress!

I love getting to play dress-up at work. This is Casablanca 2056 – definitely a contender for The Dress!

I’ve always been a writer, even from a young age, and I’ve had plenty of online journals throughout my life. However, I’ve never really taken it seriously and most of those journals were just used for social networking purposes. And now that I’m on the brink of true adulthood, I figured it’s about time I had a blog that I can use to help myself grow as a person. It’s already inspired me – hopefully it will inspire you, too!

nl_signature_3

One thought on “Introductions: The Girl Behind the Tulle

  1. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know
    how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that
    creates high quality, google friendly articles in minutes, just type in google – laranitas free content source

Reply

